facebook twitter youtube spotify soundcloud instagram

Frozen Ocean release Transience:

September 19, 2017

Vaarwel, the creative enigma behind Frozen Ocean, has decided to fling wide the gates of his kingdom and invite everyone to explore, to discover, to immerse themselves in his world.

The Frozen Ocean back catalogue can seem a vast and complex place, difficult to navigate for the uninitiated, but now Vaarwel has produced a guide to these seemingly forbidding territories, a traveller’s almanac that reveals the breathtaking order within the daunting chaos. Transience gives form and shape to the maelstrom and shines a light on the pathways through the dark. The three kingdoms within the Frozen Ocean world are revealed – the Aether, the Tether and the Nether; each one formed from the substance of a different musical style; from dark ambient, from a post-rock wasteland that lies between ambient and metal and from atmospheric, blackened metal. Vaarwel has chosen songs from each kingdom and bound them together, fresh and remastered.

Speaking of the Transience project, Vaarwel explains... "Projects with an enormous and varied discography are very difficult to perceive, even at a subliminal level. I could imagine that from the listener’s point of view, thus I prepared this for all of you who would like to attune with Frozen Ocean but didn’t know where to start. Transience is a safe and convenient passage through Frozen Ocean’s meandering discography. Be welcome, and follow me..."

This invitation is truly open to all, a gift to those with the desire to discover, with nothing asked in return. Along with fifteen remastered tracks, three previously unreleased, representing the best of Frozen Ocean’s incredible canon of work, the download pack includes breathtaking new cover art, created by Vaarwel himself, a selection of Frozen Ocean flyers, an original poem by Vaarwel that explores the thoughts behind Transience and a set of wallpapers for the stunning A Perfect Solitude album.

There has never been a better opportunity to discover the wonderful breadth, depth and diversity of Frozen Ocean. Step through the gateway and let Vaarwel be your guide...

Track Listing:

Side Aether:
1 – Brooks Run To The Comet Lake
2 – Torpor And Parallax In Lightbeam’s Jaunt
3 – Eyechains
4 – Wormwood
Side Nether:
1 – Tredje Vind Handflate Av Stormen
2 – Lurker
3 – The Dyson Swarm
4 – To Drown In Hoary Grass
5 – Mare Imbrium
6 – The Prowess Of Dormition
Side Tether:
1 – The Sorewood Disrepair
2 – Isig Flod
3 – Space Orchards
4 – White Birds Thaw On Toy Soldier’s Burial
5 – Tijd Die Door Ons Voorbijgaat


Video and images

  • cover
  • band
  • logo
  • logo
  • banner