facebook twitter youtube spotify soundcloud instagram

Solitary - Nothing Changes 20th Anniversary Edition

  • cover


    RELEASE DATE: 20/08/18

    In the mid ‘90s thrash metal was dying. The heady days when the ‘Big Four’ were on everyone’s lips and every magazine cover and the Clash Of The Titans tours dominated the arenas were becoming fading memories. However, in the north of England, one young man wasn’t prepared to sit and reminisce about the good old days and accept the turning of the tide. Rich Sherrington had a dream to follow in the footsteps of his teenage heroes Xentrix - and even if Xentrix themselves had fallen by the wayside; he wasn’t going down without a fight. In 1994 Rich formed his own band, Solitary and against all the trends, possibly against all good sense, they started the thrash fight back.

    The first Solitary album saw the light of day in 1998 on Holier Than Thou records. Nothing Changes was an iron fist of defiance, born of passion, determination and bloody knuckled defiance. Songs like ‘A Second Chance’ and ‘Bitterness’ bristled with snarling riffs, armed to the teeth and ready to fight. Even the fickle press couldn’t deny the intensity and integrity that the Solitary rebel collective had channelled into their fiercely independent music. On the back of positive reviews from major magazines like Terrorizer Solitary hit the road for two UK tours...and they’ve never looked back.

    The latest Solitary album, 2017s The Diseased Heart Of Society found the band harder, faster and more focussed than ever before. The album was welcomed with open arms by a metal scene that is once more accepting of thrash metal. The old heroes have all emerged from hiding and it’s as if the dark days never happened...but some people have long memories. Solitary never hid away and never stopped fighting and now it’s time to celebrate their hard earned battle scars...

    Twenty years on from its original release Solitary have revisited the album that announced their arrival on the battlefield. Nothing Changes has returned with new artwork, a host of bonus tracks and just a little injection of modern studio wizardry. Sounding heavier and more aggressive than ever before this old soldier has lost none of his venom and fighting spirit. In a nod to the past this special 20th Anniversary edition of Nothing Changes will only be available on CD, not on any digital platform, so pick up a copy while they’re around or miss out forever. Celebrate the true spirit of thrash, raise a glass to the unbowed and unbroken and pledge your allegiance to the band that promised to thrash forever.

    Genre: Thrash Metal
    For fans of: Metallica | Xentrix | Testament

    Nothing Changes Line-up:
    Rich Sherrington – Vocals & Guitar
    Gareth Harrop - Bass
    Matthew Costello - Guitar
    Simon Tomlinson – Drums

    Current Line-up:
    Rich Sherrington – Vocals & Guitar
    Andy Mellor – Lead Guitars
    Pete Hewitt – Bass
    Roy Miller - Drums


    web facebook youtube bandcamp label

Video and images

  • banner