facebook twitter youtube spotify soundcloud instagram

The Drowning prepare to release Senescent Signs

May 03, 2016

We are delighted to announce the imminent release of the new album from The Drowning. After five long years of silence, the band have returned with easily the most magnificent album of their career – Senescent Signs. All the gravitas and power of their past albums remains, but the atmosphere of sadness, the aching grief and waves of melancholy sweep the listener away like never before. New vocalist Matt Small has stepped into the void left by longstanding front man James Moore, bringing an unprecedented edge of raw emotion to The Drowning’s sombre sound and the band have responded by creating the heaviest, yet most beautiful, set of songs to bear their name.

Senescent Signs is an album without weaknesses, with each song offering something magical in its wandering guitar melodies, staggeringly heavy riffs, bleak atmospheres and mesmerising structures. There is no song this album could be without – be it the vast, sorrow-filled epic that is ‘Never Rest’, the enthralling atmospheres of ‘The Lament Of Faustus’, the wonderful, passionate solos of ‘Dawn Of Sorrow’ or the tragic grandeur of ‘Broken Before The Throne’. Senescent Signs is a complete piece of work – and a very special album indeed.

Prepare to be swept away by the flood. Prepare for the irresistible power of The Drowning.

Track Listing:

1 – Dolor Saeculi
2 – Broken Before The Throne
3 – Betrayed By God
4 – Never Rest
5 – At One With The Dead
6 – House Of The Tragic Poet
7 – Dawn Of Sorrow
8 – When Shadow Falls
9 – The Lament Of Faustus

Video and images