facebook twitter youtube spotify soundcloud instagram

Therion - Blood Of The Dragon featuring Frozen Ocean

March 09, 2018

Therion are one of the most innovative, dramatic and expansive bands operating in the metal scene today. From death metal beginnings they have gone on to break boundaries and redefine genres with their symphonic and operatic musical creations. The Swedish band have just released one of the most remarkably ambitious albums of their career in Beloved Antichrist and have now given their seal of approval to the equally ambitious Blood Of The Dragon project.

Being released on March 15th through Stygian Crypt Productions, Blood Of The Dragon is a sprawling double album. Disc one features rare cover versions of iconic bands like Metallica, Motφrhead, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden and Thin Lizzy recorded by Therion as bonus tracks or for compilations. The second disc of this collection features no less than sixteen bands offering up their own, original versions of classic Therion tracks. Amongst the sixteen bands you will find Frozen Ocean, the solo project of Russian enigma Vaarwel, delivering a stunning version of ‘The Wings Of The Hydra’, taken from Therion’s fourth album Lepaca Kliffoth. Vaarwel has retained the spirit of the original song but the icy touch of Frozen Ocean is unmistakeable in the delivery.

This contribution to Blood Of The Dragon is the first release from Frozen Ocean in 2018 and follows on from last year’s spectacular compilation, Transience (available as a free download) - and 2016s highly praised The Prowess Of Dormition EP available through Apocalyptic Witchcraft.

Track Listing:

01 – Fight Fire With Fire
02 – The King
03 – Southbound
04 – Witching Hour
05 – Green Manalishi
06 – Revelations
07 – Black Funeral (feat. Messiah Marcolin)
08 – Iron Fist
09 – Ivanubis Hollanda – Perennial Sophia
10 – Ivanubis Hollanda – Raven Of Dispersion

01 – GHOST WARFARE – An Arrow From The Sun
02 – ANTYRA – Asgard
03 – REVOLTED MASSES – Baal Reginon
04 – REMAINS – Genocidal Raids
05 – DAY 40 – Invocation Of Naamah
06 – DARK LETTER – Kali Yuga. Part I
07 – WHIRLWIND STORM – Liusalvheim
08 – THEOSOPHY – Pandemonic Outbreak
09 – THEUDHO – Schwarzalbenheim
10 – THE EXPERIMENT no.Q – Seven Secrets Of The Sphynx
11 – IMPERIAL AGE – To Mega Therion
12 – ELIMI – The Blood Of Kingu
13 – NUMENOR – The Riders Of Theli
14 – MARE INFINITUM – The Wand Of Arabisv
15 – FROZEN OCEAN – The Wings Of The Hydra
16 – MAJESTY OF REVIVAL – Wisdom And The Cage


web facebook youtube bandcamp

Video and Images

  • cover
  • band
  • logo